About the Artist - Iwan Groot

Brief: 24 year old with big dreams, big asperations and a passion for art, As of Late it is mainly nature photography and Fine-art Portraiture, and hoping to start Wildlife soon. I was born in Colombia, raised in Ivory Coast and Senegal and my father is Dutch and my mom Norwegian. Started as early as I can remember with drawing and painting and 2012 started learning the basics of photography which is now my main art form. I sell my artwork, take photoshoot appointments and projects as well retouch pictures for my own work and others. I hope someday to do it as a full-time job, until then it is just my passion.

A Little more: I'm a Nomad in this world in the sense I have many places I call home. Grew up in Ivory Coast in the Jungle right next to the beach, Senegal as a Teenager in the capital next to the sahara and ocean, I live in Norway. I also lived abroad in the UK for a year and Bali for a semester. I have many places in the world I would love to visit and explore. First on the lists are Artic/Antarctic locations to capture some art with the ice and snowy parts of the world that are disappearing. I would also like to do some motivational photography to help bring awareness to the the huge problem on trash and other environmental issues. I have a Christian background and is a big part of my inspiration and motivation. The first thing humans were told to do by God was to work and take care of the world, and it saddens me how much people neglect the world. There is a lot of other issues as well that I try to handle in my personal life one of which is depression and also is a big source and motivation for my fine art self portraits. I am a sensitive soul, that likes being social and making art, preferably outdoors but also can enjoy the indoors quite a bit.  Im always trying to challenge myself and try new stuff but work on my strengths with wide angle photography and panoramas with Nature and Fine art Portraiture. I have a longer history with Painting and drawing which I sometimes continue with but mainly use those skills in the digital arts now.

I hope also to visit more Arctic sites such as Franz Josef Land, Svalbard, Jan Maylen, Antartica, Greenland, But also Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Israel, Northern Africa, Himalayas, Patagonia, USA, various islands in the ocean and my childhood Homes of Ivory Coast and Senegal.I hope to make a sort of living off of Art but if I never do Im alright with it because I actually just want to make art. Fame isn't my concern nor riches. God, Love, Art.

Anything else You would like to Know Just ask.


Licensing:For the Time being Licensing isn't set up with Smugmug so for licences contact me for prices and terms of use.

Appointments and Projects: For commercial or personal use of photo from a shoot get into contact for me to give your the forms, details and we can plan something together. If you wish to make something creative together Im looking for Photographers, Make-Up Artists, models, fashion designers, sewers, painters and perhaps Retouchers to work with. 


For Guiding Check out: 

Norway Travel Guide and check out other great resources there on the site.